Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

SiteLink Support & Sales

Welcome to StorageForum!
If you're new take a look at the StorageForum Terms of Use and don't forget to check out Daily Dilbert!

How Do I Unlink Units? [Unit Setup] [FAQ]

SiteLink_SystemSiteLink_System NA ✭✭
edited April 2017 in Unit Setup FAQs

To unlink units, we first need to understand what it means to have “linked units.”
SiteLink Technical Support Answer
A linked unit means that a customer is in more than one unit and is tied together. For instance, when you go to the payment screen you will be able to take one payment for multiple units rather than having to log into two separate screens.
To make this happen on the second unit move in screen the tenant name is chosen from the existing tenant list rather than adding a new tenant name. If a new tenant name is added even if the name is the same as the original move in the unit will not be linked.

Why Would You Unlink A Unit?

A typical scenario would be a divorce. A couple has two units and they decide that person A will keep unit 1 and person B will keep unit 2. The issue is that if you change the name of the tenant for one unit the other tenant name will change. The reason is because the units are linked. Once the unlinking process is finished for the new tenant name the payment and ledger history will not be lost.
To unlink the units, go to the Company / Utilities screen.
The button that you need to use is hidden.
Hold down "ctrl" "shift" and "t" to enable (hold all three buttons at the same time). That will bring up the Move ledger to another tenant button.
Click on that button.
Click the Add Button in the bottom right hand corner.
Add the new person’s name that will be in one of the units. Click OK.
Then on the left hand side of the screen, click on the unit you want to unlink. On the right hand side, click on the new tenant name that should be associated with that unit.
Then click on the transfer button in the middle.
Once completed, exit the screen and go to the payment screen to make sure that each unit is with the correct separate name and are “unlinked”.



Tagged:
Sign In or Register to comment.