Map disrupting "refresh data"

Options
sonyawiprud
sonyawiprud Registered User ✭✭✭
Does this happen to anyone else? I have two desks running SiteLink Web Edition, if one of us has the map open, and minimized, it prevents the other from moving forward with a move-in. Only we don't realize it's open so we struggle trying to save the information and anxiety ensues. Just wondering if there is a setting that would help prevent that from happening. Hope I explained this clearly. 
Tagged:

Comments

  • themage
    themage Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    We are unable to use the map, so I cant test my suggestions.
    Have you tried using the map in MyHub? It may let you keep it open without interfering with the Web Edition refresh.

    --the following is just me "thinking out loud" and can probably be ignored--
    I imagine the map regularly checks the status of each unit. Each time, it probably updates the database, so any client that tries to change the data for that unit is "out of date" and needs to refresh to get the most up to date information (even though nothing has really changed). I wonder if the new background refresh has an effect.
  • storable_support
    storable_support Registered User, Registered Moderator, Community Manager ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

    What you're experiencing should not happen; activity on one computer shouldn't affect another in this way. We'd like to get some more information and help you troubleshoot this. Please give us a call at 919-865-0789 > Option 2. 

  • sonyawiprud
    sonyawiprud Registered User ✭✭✭
    Options
    themage said:
    We are unable to use the map, so I cant test my suggestions.
    Have you tried using the map in MyHub? It may let you keep it open without interfering with the Web Edition refresh.

    --the following is just me "thinking out loud" and can probably be ignored--
    I imagine the map regularly checks the status of each unit. Each time, it probably updates the database, so any client that tries to change the data for that unit is "out of date" and needs to refresh to get the most up to date information (even though nothing has really changed). I wonder if the new background refresh has an effect.
    I think you are absolutely correct! I just got off the phone with Mike from support, and he says that's not it. He claims he can't do anything about it. I can't stand Mike, he doesn't listen! 
  • sonyawiprud
    sonyawiprud Registered User ✭✭✭
    Options

    What you're experiencing should not happen; activity on one computer shouldn't affect another in this way. We'd like to get some more information and help you troubleshoot this. Please give us a call at 919-865-0789 > Option 2. 

    Well I spoke with Mike, who first of all did not read or pay attention to my issue, he simply clicked on move-in and said "it's working fine now". I have to say, I have worked with Mike in the past and he needs to slow down, listen to the issue and pay attention to his customers. He makes me feel stupid, and rushed. He did nothing for me and said there is nothing that can be done about it, claims it's an internet issue. I told him we have been experiencing this same issue for years. Two move-ins at the same time on different pc's for different units cannot be completed if one of the computers has their map open, minimized or otherwise. Mike has done this to me so many times, I die when I hear his voice on the other end, because he is arrogant and overconfident he knows what he's talking about, when he isn't even listening. Never lets me finish a sentence, interrupting and demanding. I understand it makes no sense, but I am telling you, if one of us discovers in a timely manner that a map is open somewhere, and we exit the map, everyone gets to keep renting successfully. Sometimes we just don't catch that a map is open because it doesn't show separately from the sitelink icon in the desk tray. He actually said to call support when it is happening, can you imagine? Office full a people and I have to say "sorry this is taking so long, let me call support so you can wait even longer" when all we really do is figure out who has map open, but we have to cancel the current move-in to see if it's open.  He wouldn't even let me replicate the error, I wanted to get someone else to log-in and open a map and start renting two units at the same time, he just opened my map and then rented a unit, THAT is not the issue. I think it has to be two different employees logged into SiteLink. Could it be that some of us have the same credentials and some of us don't?  I need someone who has patience to help me. 
  • sonyawiprud
    sonyawiprud Registered User ✭✭✭
    Options

© 2018 SiteLink Software, LLC. All Rights Reserved

Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy   |  Cookies Policy   |  Help  |  Contact Community Manager   |  Change Marketplace Ads