Best days and hours to have the office open

opss
opss Registered User ✭✭✭
Do we really need to keep the office open 7 days a week?  I am a small operator and have the challenge of part time help. I saw a business open Wed. to Sat. and was wondering what others thought of this idea.  I was thinking Wed. to Sat.  12 to 5:30. With access hours 6 am to 10 pm.

Comments

• L_Greenwell
    L_Greenwell Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭
    Our hours are Monday-Friday 9-5. We do not have a gate, 24 hour access. We have done this for about 12 years. No problem. If someone needs a unit they will find the time to do it Monday-Friday.
  • Orkocean
    Orkocean Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭✭✭
    The way we do it is is a law of average type situation but what it comes down to is they put a value on every rental with average stays and what not to be about $1000 a year worth of income. Obviously that can be plus or minus depending on unit sizes and what not but average wise that's what we go by. You then count up payroll and costs to be open on Sundays for instance and lets just say payroll is $10 an hour, 4 hours every Sunday for a year comes up to a little over 2 grand in payroll. If in those 52 Sundays we have rented at least 3 units, it counts as a win money wise. We do u-hauls as well so the additional income from trucks, rentals, merchandise always out does our costs to be open. And unfortunately not everyone has the luxury of planning when they need to get storage, sometimes things happen and they need it right then which is why we also offer online rentals as we want to capture every possible rental we can versus our competition. 
  • i43storage
    i43storage Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭✭✭