Locks, Keys and Liabilities

Options
Ok, I'm pretty new to this business but have quite a bit of experience in organizational management, policy and procedure development, etc.  I came on board and have been working with the owner to try to assess and evaluate everything we are doing here to get to maximum efficiency and effectiveness.  So here's a situation.  Past practice has been to require a cylinder lock on the unit which is given with the deposit. The lease states only one lock on the unit though they have allowed many to use secondary padlocks as well.  The lease also states we may enter the unit for any reason necessary...not that we do or want to but if there is a reason to like an emergency or suspicion of illegal activity or lese violations, etc., we can and will cut locks or drill out.   Past practice has also been to give the cylinder lock with 2 keys and a 3rd key was kept in the office for emergencies.  All of this was very inconsistent, we have some keys but not others, some units have cylinder locks, some don't, some have multiple locks, others don't.  As we try to figure out the best policy for locks, keys and liabilities; what are some of your SOP's in this area.  We are leaning towards requiring a cylinder lock but giving the tenant all 3 keys to relieve the business of the liability of having keys to units or in office.  If we need to cut in, additional locks will also be cut but all responsibility and liability is on tenant  (unless it is a maintenance issue or something the company has to do...then we will replace the cylinder lock).  What are your thoughts or practices in this area?

Comments

• ESS
    ESS Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options