sneaky customer

Im new to self storage so hello all. A customer who i cant get in contact with due to disconnected contact info. has 2 units with us, an rv and normal unit. She is past due and to the point of overlock but now i see she snuck in and got her rv. Now i have a space that is overlocked and empty and the fees are adding up. I cant get a hold of her and i fear she emptied her other unit then locked it on the way out. How is this addressed? Is this normal?

Comments

• ESS
    ESS Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭✭✭
    Our gate locks out everyone past due on the 2nd day and we overlock on the 8th. Sometimes this does happen on the rare occasion and we just run them thru the lien process. When she comes for lock cuts, you'll know if the unit is empty or not. It would be a lot of work and depending on the state you're in, but you could overlock on the 1st or 2nd. In Texas, we can impose our lien on the first day they're past due (hence the gate lock out). Does she have an alternate contact, emergency contact, or employer on file that you can call? 
  • MamaDuke7
    MamaDuke7 Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭✭✭
    Do you have any way to sneak a camera over or under the door?  That's what I used to do in this situation.  Check to see if there is even still stuff in there.  If not, remove the lock and move on.  If so, you know to continue the lien process.
  • BusyProperties
    BusyProperties Registered User ✭✭✭