Auction Processing

StoreLand18424
StoreLand18424 Registered User

Hello,

This is our first auction and I have never used sitelink before when processing one. Is there a special way to process the payment or do I just process the payment to the unit as if I was moving it out?

Thank you for your help.

Christina

Tagged:

Comments

• AZStorageGuy
    AZStorageGuy Registered User ✭✭✭
    @StoreLand1842

If your company assesses a Public Sale Fee, you want to do that first in Edit Charges before you apply the payment.

Also, if the payment was enough to cover what was owed on the unit, SL will ask you if the "scheduled auction" should be cancelled.  Well, if you just had an auction and this unit was sold, the answer is NO!

I am also in the habit of NOT applying any of the payment to outstanding insurance premiums (if there are any) as that policy is now null and void (and was probably cancelled after 30 days--check terms and conditions with your tenant insurance provider).

After you've taken the payment and depending on how your company does things, you can move the now-former tenant out and tell the Exit Survey that the reason is the unit was sold at auction.  "Will they use storage again in the future?"  Not here they're not!

Check your state laws in Virginia for specifics on complying with their lien sale statutes.

Hope someone else here can add to this.  This is only my limited perspective. . .

William McBride
  • StorageAuctions.com
    StorageAuctions.com StorageAuctions-com Moderator
    I agree with the AZstorageGuy-   make sure you add ALL the fees your company allows-  post the amount collected and move them out.-