Receiving Auction Proceeds in Sitelink

I'm a newbie to the auction process.  We did all the notifications and held the auction.  I processed the auction in Sitelink to generate the letter to send to the tenant.  Sitelink still shows the unit in the delinquent tenant's name with their balance due.  How do I record the proceeds from the sale? (sold for less than the debt on the unit).  I didn't want to do the Move-Out and then not be able to undo it if it was wrong.
Tagged:

Comments

• 87ambie
    87ambie Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭
    You should check your rules for what to do where you reside. We move a tenant out and then record the payment on the account after the move out has been processed. Keep in mind that if you make a mistake you can always reverse the move out in the same day. 
  • Orkocean
    Orkocean Registered User, Daily Operations Certified, Advanced Operations Certified, Administrator Certified, myHub Certified ✭✭✭✭✭
    Assuming you followed all applicable state statutes regarding the lien process and everything was done right you now would apply the payment to the unit. Hopefully you charged the winning bidder the appropriate state sales tax if needed as well. Random numbers to give an example., Unit a10 sold for $200, go into unit a10, apply a $200 payment to the account and then move it out. Typically you want to apply the payment before moving it out, if your company does not send past due balances to collections then upon move out you usually will write off the remaining as bad debt. When you write off bad debt it credits the remainder, once a credit or payment as been done during the move out process you can no longer just reverse the move out so it's better to be done prior to moving out. And if you company settings allow it you can reverse a move out up to 5 days from the day of move out.
  • prowlett